

Media Release – Appointment of Office Bearers of Law Society Council 2022

17 November 2021

The team of Mr Adrian Tan Gim Hai, Ms Lisa Sam Hui Min, Mr Chan Tai-Hui Jason, SC and Mr Tan Beng Hwee Paul has been elected as Office Bearers of the Law Society for 2022. President Adrian Tan Gim Hai will lead the 21-member Law Society Council. Ms Lisa Sam Hui Min and Mr Chan Tai-Hui Jason, SC have been re-elected as Vice Presidents. Mr Tan Beng Hwee Paul has been re-elected as Treasurer.

The Law Society has about 6,300 members and is a body established under the Legal Profession Act (the "Act") to carry out various statutory functions prescribed under the Act, including maintaining and improving the standards of conduct and learning of the legal profession, the facilitation of the acquisition of legal knowledge by members of the legal profession, and protecting and assisting the public in matters ancillary or incidental to the law.

President-Elect Adrian Tan said: "We've experienced two years of unprecedented global change. Society and businesses have had to cope with the challenges posed by the coronavirus. Legal issues have come to the fore, and the need for legal advice and representation continues to rise. In the midst of this surge in demand, lawyers are asked to do their best for their clients, while grappling with issues and constraints imposed by the pandemic. The Law Society will be nimble and imaginative, to serve the needs of practitioners in these tough times."

The members of the 2022 Council of the Law Society of Singapore are set out as follows:

Officer Bearers:

- 1) Adrian Tan Gim Hai President
- 2) Lisa Sam Hui Min Vice President
- 3) Chan Tai-Hui Jason, SC Vice President
- 4) Tan Beng Hwee Paul Treasurer

Council members 2022 in order of seniority based on date of admission:

S/No	Council-Elect 2022
5	Gregory Vijayendran, SC – Immediate Past President
6	M Rajaram#
7	Chan Pengee Adrian*
8	Manimaran Arumugam TAMIL
9	Koh Choon Guan Daniel
10	Chia Boon Teck
11	Ng Lip Chih#
12	Chia Soo Michael
13	Nicholas Jeyaraj s/o Narayanan#
14	Sunil Sudheesan*
15	Simran Kaur Toor
16	Low Ying Li, Christine
17	Foo Guo Zheng Benjamin*
18	Marshall Lim Yu Hui
19	Tan Wei-Min, Sarah Ephesians

The Law Society of Singapore

	20	Abhinav Ratan Mohan
ſ	21	Darryl Chew Zijie

#	Statutory member appointed by the Minister under section 48(1)(b) Legal Profession Act
*	Statutory member appointed by the Council under section 48(1)(c) Legal Profession Act

ABOUT THE LAW SOCIETY

Established in 1967, the Law Society of Singapore is a body established under the Legal Profession Act. It carries out various statutory functions prescribed under the Legal Profession Act, including maintaining and improving the standards of conduct and learning of the legal profession in Singapore, the facilitation of the acquisition of legal knowledge by members of the legal profession, and protecting and assisting the public in all matters ancillary or incidental to the law.

For media queries, please contact:

Ufairah Akram (Ms) Senior Executive Officer, Communications The Law Society of Singapore

Tel 6530 0257 Fax 6533 5700

Email Communications@lawsoc.org.sq