

Media Release - Law Society of Singapore Election 2021

30 October 2020

RESULTS OF LAW SOCIETY ELECTION 2021

Senior Category

There are 4 places in the Senior Category and the 6 candidates for the Senior Category are, in random order, Sam Hui Min Lisa (Lisa Cen Hui Min), Gregory Vijayendran Ganesamoorthy, SC, Chia Soo Michael, Manimaran s/o Arumugam, Ong Boon Hwee William and Rajvant Kaur d/o Jagit Singh.

The results of the Ballot held on Friday, 30 October 2020 are as follows:

Name of Candidate	Number of Votes
1) Sam Hui Min Lisa (Lisa Cen Hui Min)	1206
2) Gregory Vijayendran Ganesamoorthy, SC	1504
3) Chia Soo Michael	856
4) Manimaran s/o Arumugam	807
5) Ong Boon Hwee William	617
6) Rajvant Kaur d/o Jagit Singh	465

Under section 51 of the Legal Profession Act, the elected candidates in the Senior Category are, in random order, Sam Hui Min Lisa (Lisa Cen Hui Min), Gregory Vijayendran Ganesamoorthy, SC, Chia Soo Michael and Manimaran s/o Arumugam.

Sam Hui Min Lisa (Lisa Cen Hui Min), Gregory Vijayendran Ganesamoorthy, SC, and Chia Soo Michael are current Council members and have served in Council since 2011, 2013 and 2010 respectively. Manimaran s/o Arumugam will be a new addition to Council.

Middle Category

There is 1 place in the Middle Category and the 4 candidates for the Middle Category are, in random order, Daniel Tay Yi Ming, Lim Hui Li Debby, Simran Kaur Toor and Goh Keng Haw

The results of the Ballot held on Friday, 30 October 2020 are as follows:

Name of Candidate	Number of Votes
1) Daniel Tay Yi Ming	167
2) Lim Hui Li Debby	433
3) Simran Kaur Toor	614
4) Goh Keng Haw	101

Under section 51 of the Legal Profession Act, the elected candidate in the Middle Category is Simran Kaur Toor.

Simran Kaur Toor is currently a Council member and has served in Council since 2011.

Junior Category

There are 2 candidates for 2 places in the Junior Category, and they are Marshall Lim Yu Hui and Abhinav Ratan Mohan . As such, there is no election for the Junior Category this year. Under section 53(1) of the Legal Profession Act, Marshall Lim Yu Hui and Abhinav Ratan Mohan are deemed to be elected.

Marshall Lim Yu Hui and Abhinav Ratan Mohan will be new additions to Council.

ABOUT THE LAW SOCIETY

Established in 1967, the Law Society of Singapore is a body established under the Legal Profession Act. It carries out various statutory functions prescribed under the Legal Profession Act, including maintaining and improving the standards of conduct and learning of the legal profession in Singapore, the facilitation of the acquisition of legal knowledge by members of the legal profession, and protecting and assisting the public in all matters ancillary or incidental to the law.

For media queries, please contact:

Ufairah Akram (Ms) Senior Executive Officer, Communications The Law Society of Singapore Tel 6530 0257 Fax 6533 5700 Email <u>Communications@lawsoc.org.sg</u>