

Media Release – Appointment of Office Bearers of Law Society Council 2024

22 November 2023

The team of Sam Hui Min Lisa (Lisa Cen Hui Min), Teh Guek Ngor Engelin, SC, Chia Boon Teck and Chia Soo Michael has been elected as Office Bearers of the Law Society of Singapore for 2024. Sam Hui Min Lisa (Lisa Cen Hui Min), will lead the 21-member Council as President. Teh Guek Ngor Engelin, SC and Chia Boon Teck have been elected and re-elected respectively as Vice Presidents. Chia Soo Michael has been re-elected as Treasurer.

The Law Society has about 6,500 members and is a body established under the Legal Profession Act (the "Act") to carry out various statutory functions prescribed under the Act, including maintaining and improving the standards of conduct and learning of the legal profession, the facilitation of the acquisition of legal knowledge by members of the legal profession, and protecting and assisting the public in matters ancillary or incidental to the law.

President-elect Lisa Sam said: "The legal landscape is evolving rapidly through technological advances and new work practices. While these changes present new challenges for lawyers and law practices, they will open up a wealth of opportunities for our profession in an increasingly interconnected globalised world. We will navigate these changes together and ensure that the Singapore legal profession remains a pillar of strength and integrity, and continues to play an important role in our society."

The members of the 2024 Council of the Law Society of Singapore, listed by seniority according to admission date, are set out below:

S/No	Council 2024	l	
1	Sam Hui Min Lisa (Lisa Cen Hui Min)	President	Office Bearer
2	Teh Guek Ngor Engelin, SC*	Vice President	Office Bearer
3	Chia Boon Teck	Vice President	Office Bearer
4	Chia Soo Michael	Treasurer	Office Bearer
5	Lim Seng Siew		
6	Koh Choon Guan Daniel		
7	Chew Kei-Jin*		
8	Lim Hui Bian Vivienne#		
9	Lam Kuet Keng Steven John		
10	Siraj Omar, SC#		
11	Nicholas Jeyaraj s/o Narayanan#		
12	Chan Tai-Hui Jason, SC		
13	Gregory Xu Weicheng		
14	Low Ying Li, Christine (Liu Yingli)		
15	Sui Yi Siong (Xu Yixiong)*		
16	Foo Guo Zheng Benjamin		
17	Andrew Chua Ruiming		
18	Darryl Chew Zijie		
19	Eva Teh Jing Hui		
20	Ong Mori		
21	Muhamad Ashraf s/o Syed Ansarai		

#	Statutory member appointed by the Minister under section 48(1)(b) Legal Profession Act
*	Statutory member appointed by the Council under section 48(1)(c) Legal Profession Act

ABOUT THE LAW SOCIETY

Established in 1967, the Law Society of Singapore is a body established under the Legal Profession Act. It carries out various statutory functions prescribed under the Legal Profession Act, including maintaining and improving the standards of conduct and learning of the legal profession in Singapore, the facilitation of the acquisition of legal knowledge by members of the legal profession, and protecting and assisting the public in all matters ancillary or incidental to the law.

For media queries, please contact:

Ufairah Akram (Ms) Assistant Manager, Communications The Law Society of Singapore

Tel 6530 0257 Fax 6533 5700

Email Communications@lawsoc.org.sg