

Media Release – Law Society of Singapore Election 2024

25 October 2023

RESULTS OF LAW SOCIETY OF SINGAPORE'S ELECTION FOR COUNCIL 2024

Senior Category

There are 8 candidates running for 3 places in the Senior Category. The 8 candidates are, in no particular order, Koh Choon Guan Daniel, Chan Tai-Hui, Jason, SC, Peh Nam Chuan Adrian, Chia Boon Teck, Tan Beng Hwee Paul, Jaikanth Shankar, Daniel Chia Hsiung Wen and Liow Wang Wu Joseph.

The results of the ballot held on Wednesday, 25 October 2023 are as follows:

| Name of Candidate | Number of Votes |
|----------------------------|-----------------|
| 1) Chan Tai-Hui, Jason, SC | 1182 |
| 2) Chia Boon Teck | 730 |
| 3) Daniel Chia Hsiung Wen | 294 |
| 4) Jaikanth Shankar | 645 |
| 5) Koh Choon Guan Daniel | 970 |
| 6) Liow Wang Wu Joseph | 668 |
| 7) Peh Nam Chuan Adrian | 251 |
| 8) Tan Beng Hwee Paul | 460 |

Under section 51 of the Legal Profession Act, the elected candidates in the Senior Category are Chan Tai-Hui, Jason, SC, Koh Choon Guan Daniel and Chia Boon Teck.

Chan Tai-Hui, Jason, SC, Koh Choon Guan Daniel and Chia Boon Teck are current Council members.

Middle Category

There are 7 candidates running for 3 places in the Middle Category. The 7 candidates are, in no particular order, Darryl Chew Zijie, Joshua Thomas Raj, Foo Guo Zheng, Benjamin, Low Ying Li, Christine, (Liu Yingli), Mohammad Shafiq Bin Haja Maideen, Md Noor E Adnaan and Raeza Khaled Salem Ibrahim.

The results of the ballot held on Wednesday, 25 October 2023 are as follows:

| Name of Candidate | Number of Votes |
|--|-----------------|
| 1) Darryl Chew Zijie | 367 |
| 2) Foo Guo Zheng, Benjamin | 556 |
| 3) Joshua Thomas Raj | 329 |
| 4) Low Ying Li, Christine (Liu Yingli) | 885 |
| 5) Md Noor E Adnaan | 358 |
| 6) Mohammad Shafiq Bin Haja Maideen | 251 |
| 7) Raeza Khaled Salem Ibrahim | 325 |

Under section 51 of the Legal Profession Act, the elected candidates in the Middle Category are Low Ying Li, Christine (Liu Yingli), Foo Guo Zheng, Benjamin and Darryl Chew Zijie.

Low Ying Li, Christine (Liu Yingli), Foo Guo Zheng, Benjamin and Darryl Chew Zijie are current Council members.

Junior Category

There are 2 candidates for 2 places in the Junior Category. The candidates are Ong Mori and Muhamad Ashraf s/o Syed Ansarai. There is no election for the Junior Category this year. Under section 53(1) of the Legal Profession Act, Ong Mori and Muhamad Ashraf s/o Syed Ansarai are deemed to be elected.

Both Ong Mori and Muhamad Ashraf s/o Syed Ansarai will be new additions to Council.

ABOUT THE LAW SOCIETY

Established in 1967, the Law Society of Singapore is a body established under the Legal Profession Act. It carries out various statutory functions prescribed under the Legal Profession Act, including maintaining and improving the standards of conduct and learning of the legal profession in Singapore, the facilitation of the acquisition of legal knowledge by members of the legal profession, and protecting and assisting the public in all matters ancillary or incidental to the law.

For media queries, please contact:

Ufairah Akram (Ms) Assistant Manager, Communications The Law Society of Singapore Tel 6530 0257 Fax 6533 5700 Email <u>Communications@lawsoc.org.sg</u>