

The Law Society of Singapore

28 Maxwell Road #01-03 Maxwell Chambers Suites S(069120) t: +65 6538 2500 f: +65 6533 5700 www.lawsociety.org.sg

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PRESS RELEASE

22 November 2024

APPOINTMENT OF OFFICE BEARERS OF LAW SOCIETY COUNCIL 2025

- 1. The Law Society of Singapore is pleased to announce the reappointment of its Office Bearers for 2025. Lisa Sam will continue to lead as President, supported by Senior Counsel Engelin Teh and Chia Boon Teck, who will continue as Vice Presidents, as well as Michael S Chia, will also continue his role as Treasurer.
- 2. As President, Lisa Sam will oversee the 21-member Council, which represents approximately 6,300 members of the Law Society. The Society, established under the Legal Profession Act 1966 (the "Act"), is entrusted with statutory responsibilities such as maintaining and improving the standards of conduct and learning of the legal profession, the facilitation of the acquisition of legal knowledge by members of the legal profession, and protecting and assisting the public in matters ancillary or incidental to the law.
- 3. Reflecting on her reappointment, Lisa Sam said: "It is a privilege to lead the legal profession and serve our members. In the coming term, I will focus on ensuring our members thrive in the rapidly evolving legal landscape. We will embrace technology and deepen partnerships to build a resilient legal profession that cares for the wider community."
- 4. The names of 19 members of the 2025 Council, listed by seniority of admission to the Bar, are provided below.

S/N	Council 2025		
1	Sam Hui Min Lisa (Lisa Cen Hui Min)	President	Office Bearer
2	Teh Guek Ngor Engelin, SC*	 Vice President 	Office Bearer
3	Chia Boon Teck	 Vice President 	Office Bearer
4	Chia Soo Michael	Treasurer	Office Bearer
5	Lim Seng Siew*		
6	Liow Wang Wu Joseph		
7	Koh Choon Guan Daniel		
8	Chacko Samuel		
9	Nicholas Jeyaraj s/o Narayanan#		
10	Chan Tai-Hui Jason, SC		
11	Khelvin Xu Cunhan*		
12	Choo Zheng Xi		
13	Low Ying Li, Christine (Liu Yingli)		
14	Foo Guo Zheng Benjamin		
15	Darryl Chew Zijie		
16	Thaddaeus Aaron Tan Yong Zhong		
17	Phoon Wuei		
18	Muhamad Ashraf s/o Syed Ansarai		
19	Ong Mori		

^{*} Statutory member appointed by the Minister under section 48(1)(b) of the Act

^{*} Statutory member appointed by the Council under section 48(1)(c) of the Act

5. The remaining two members, to be appointed under Section 48(1)(b) of the Act, will be announced in due course.

-END-

For media queries, please contact:

Ufairah Akram (Ms) Assistant Manager, Communications
The Law Society of Singapore
Tel 6530 0257
Fax 6533 5700

communications@lawsoc.org.sg Email